Archive for September 4th, 2009

In Awe of Rick Reilly*

*Awe isn’t always good.

Devoted readers of NPI,

I tried. I tried not to resort to basic article-bashing and name-calling. I tried to take the high ground and ignore glaring flaws in logic and basic ignorance of how sports work.

I tried, and I failed.

I didn’t want to have to go all Fire Joe Morgan on Rick Reilly’s “In awe of the Williams sisters” backpage column in the latest ESPN The Magazine. But that’s the thing in this business: Sometimes you’ve got to get dirty.

I hope you understand.

Your pal,

Tim

(Subhead) “It’s U.S. Open time, and the choice is obvious: Venus or Serena?”

Honestly, I’m not trying to be a dick, and it’s possible that Reilly didn’t write his article’s subhead. But I think this sentence forgets what the word “choice” means. Saying the “choice is obvious” and then posing a question is somewhat hypocritical. “It’s Election Day, and the choice is obvious: Obama or McCain?” As Reilly goes to lengths to show, the “choice” is really hard. The “choices” meanwhile are obvious.

I don’t think the rest of the article requires this level of grammatical attention.

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers