Archive for September 9th, 2009

NFL Preview Bonanza: Ranking the Refs

I’ve always been disproportionately proud of my ability to discern all NFL referees by both sight and voice. It’s a talent developed over years of watching myriad NFL games and unnecessary research on Wikipedia.

The fruit of my toiling is here for you now, a completely personalized and very arbitrary ranking of the NFL referees.

17. Ron Winter

Ron Winter is a ref who doesn’t play by the rules, and that’s really the problem. Winter, who seems like a nice guy who just doesn’t give a crap, captained the biggest officiating debacle of the decade in the 2002 Wild Card game between the Giants and 49ers, so suffice to say we’re not on good terms. Plus, I used to get him confused with former ref Ron Blum, who was also not very good.

16. Carl Cheffers

I have no idea who this guy is, which means he’s never reffed an important game.

15. Jeff Triplette

I’m pretty sure one of the first things you learn at Referee College is not to blind one of the players. Triplette also didn’t have the guts to call this a safety.

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers