The Double Bonus: Championship Monday

To join the live chat that kicks off at 9 p.m. Monday night, just click here!

This is it, folks: the culmination of five thrilling months that began way back in November with Tim’s interminable 2011 College Basketball Preview Palooza. Even though Tim and John’s beloved Blue Devils aren’t involved in the action tonight, this is still a very intriguing title game with a serious rooting interest (they can join the masses in cheering for Butler this year!). Plus, for like the first time all Tournament, the two disagree on who is going to win, from their award-winning podcast:

JOHN S: “I am picking UConn. I thought really hard about picking Butler. I think they match up well with UConn and will give them a hell of a game. I think it’ll probably be close in the same way Duke and Butler was last year. But for the same reasons we picked UConn over Kentucky, in a close game with two teams back and forth, who has the best player, who do you trust the most with the ball in his hands to get the big shot? And that’s Kemba Walker. I think UConn wins, 63-61.”

TIM [after analyzing Butler’s contests with Cleveland State and Norris Cole]: “I think it’s gonna be a close game. Part of this is the novelty of the pick, but I am going to pick Butler to beat UConn and win the national championship. I trust Butler more to get a defensive stop late than I trust even Kemba Walker to score a bucket late against their defense. They’re so good in terms of help defense, I think Stevens will have a good strategy for neutralizing Walker. I’m sure Nored will play a part in that. And I can imagine the tenor of that game being Kemba Walker hasn’t had that good a game, maybe Jeremy Lamb carries them and keeps them close, and it’s late and they’re looking for Walker to hit the big shot and it doesn’t fall. That’s how I see that game going, and I pick Butler to win, 65-62.”

And remember, the live chat that kicks off at 9 p.m. Monday night. Just click here!

Leave a Reply

