Louie Louie Louie: Niece

As Season Two of Louie continues on FX, John S and Josh will be offering NPI readers their reactions to each episode. At the end of the season, they will rank the episodes. Get excited.

Josh: Gideon Adlon, Pamela Adlon’s daughter, is the feature guest character of “Niece,” an episode where Louie’s sister drops off her daughter, Amy, to stay with Louie. Despite the fact that I generally like when Louie episodes turn to children, my favorite part of the episode was the opening standup, most notably “You’re wearing a vest that matches the building!” and Louie’s riff on pseudo-altruistic college students. Admittedly, Louie could have said just about anything in that jappy voice and I would have been amused. Amy gives Louie the opportunity to deal with an early teenager, and Louie makes it clear that he doesn’t know anyone her age, reflective of the fact that a focus on a character of Amy’s age is novel to the show thus far. In many ways, I empathize* with the struggle in interacting with children of a particular age group that you have not been exposed to for some time. In fact, I was thinking the other day that I haven’t had any extended interaction with children in the four to ten age bracket in at least a year, possibly multiple. While I did like the emphasis on this phenomenon, this was not one of my favorite episodes.  The indie rock and homeless man scenes were okay, but I didn’t feel that they added much to the episode. Given the ending, it looks likes it’s possible (or probable?) that Amy will be appearing in the final episodes: I’d be very curious to see her interact with Louie’s daughters, given C.K.’s knack for realistic depictions of children and their dialogue.

*It’s all about empathy!

John S: Like Josh, I was kind of hoping to see some interaction between Amy and Louie’s daughters, so I was mildly disappointed that they weren’t featured in this episode. And given C.K.’s utter disdain for continuity, I’m not that confident that we’ll get to see Amy in next week’s finale. I hope we do, though, because “Niece” was a lot of set up with very little punchline. While it’s certainly true that 13-year-old girls have some of the most impenetrable personalities in the world, I find it a little hard to believe that Louie, the father of two daughters, would have that much difficulty relating to one of them. I think the best parts of the episode were the parts that dwelled on the specific ambiguities of their relationship: when Louie reminded Amy that her dad walked out on her family, or when he tried to do crowd work to please her. The latter scene in particular was something I wish the episode had done more with. We so often get to see Louie at the top of his game on stage, the one place where he’s always comfortable, that I would have liked to see more of him struggling up there, trying to please one person. Finally, a note to C.K. if he ever happens to read this: Enough already with the grainy fucking black-and-white footage of train stations…

One response to this post.

  1. […] 8. Niece / Airport/New Jersey  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

